By; Francis Jjunju

13th Nov 2018

The Uganda Episcopal Conference (UEC) has announced its ten Commissions’ new leadership for the next four years.

These new commission chairpersons were appointed at the end of the Bishops’ plenary held at St. Augustine’s Institute Nsambya that also confirmed Bishop Joseph Antony Zziwa of Kiyinda-Mityana Diocese as the UEC Chairman.

In a press release issued by the UEC Secretary General Msgr. John Baptist Kauta, among those appointed include the Archbishop of Kampala Dr. Cyprian Kizito Lwanga who is to head Caritas Uganda as well as Justice and Peace.

Other Bishops to head different Commissions including, Bishop Rubaramira, to head Finance and Administration, Justice, and Peace, Arua Bishop Sabino Odoki will head the Doctrinal Commission, Bishop Sanctus Lino Wanok of Nebbi diocese will head education, Bishop Paul Ssemogerere of Kassana-Luweero will head the Lay Apostolate Commission while Bishop Lambert Bainomugisha, the auxiliary Bishop of Mbarara will head the Church’s Legal Service Commission. Bishop Bainomugisha holds a P.h.D in Canon Law.

Elsewhere, Bishop Christopher Kakooza of Lugazi will head the Liturgical Commission, while Bishop Aquirinus Francis Kibira of Kasese will head the Priestly Formation and Institutes of Consecrated Life (Seminaries) and Bishop Joseph Franzelli of Lira will continue to head the Communications Commission. Bishop Franzelli is at the forefront of setting up the Catholic TV Network.

These chairpersons serve directly with executive secretaries and the staff at the Uganda Catholic Secretariat.

Wednesday 14th November 2018 07:31:56 AM